ParentingUnderstanding The Five Stages of Child Development

Understanding The Five Stages of Child Development

When you have children you will suddenly become acutely aware of the responsibility of being a parent. It’s more than just feeding them or keeping them safe. As a parent, you need to educate your child emotionally, intellectually, and socially. This will help them to find their own path in life and enjoy the experience of being alive.

Child Development


To ensure you do your best for your children you should understand the five stages of child development.

1-)  Newborn

This needs little explanation. The newborn stage lasts from when your child is born until they are three months old. During this stage your child is largely helpless, they’ll rely on you to do everything for them.

When newborn they will respond to specific stimuli, such as stroking their cheek gets them to turn their head toward you. Newborns can recognize smells, moves their head from side to side, and can cry to get your attention.

2-) Infant

By three months your newborn will become an infant. This stage lasts until they are a year old. It’s during this stage they will learn to bring their hands together, control head movements, and sit without support. By the time they are a year old, they will be able to babble and start picking up objects as they begin crawling.

3-) Toddler

Crawling generally quickly turns into walking, or toddling. This stage lasts from one to three-years-old and is possibly when your child is the most fun.

They will start walking, learn to climb stairs, and even jump. Toddlers can also hold crayons, draw circles, and even start stacking blocks. They should also start using simple sentences.

This is the age when they should be screened for autism and any other issues that concern you as a parent.

4-) Pre-school

This is the time when you have to make the difficult decision regarding pre-school care. For your child to grow and develop they need the additional stimulation that a reputable childcare center can provide. You should look for a quality establishment, such as this Liverpool childcare center, and get your child enrolled.

They have the ability to absorb information at this age, this will help them be good learners in the future. Pre-school will also help them to develop their emotional and social abilities.

It should be noted that the pre-school age encourages the development of motor skills, such as skipping, hopping, throwing a ball, and even standing on one foot. Pre-school children can also draw a person with features and dress themselves.

5-) School

From six-years-old to twelve, children are in the school-age stage of development. After this, they become teenagers and then adults.
At this age, they develop confidence and become capable of building and maintaining friendships. Toward the end of this stage, they will also start to develop sexual characteristics, preparing them for life when they are no longer a child.

Knowing the different stages means you can monitor your child and make sure they are reaching their targets. If you have any concerns you should speak to a health professional.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe Today





Get unlimited access to our EXCLUSIVE Content and our archive of subscriber stories.

Exclusive content

More article